About the production

Directed by: Gary Keegan

Written and devised by: The cast

Inspired by the classic text Woyzech, Batsh*t explores how a single act of violence, committed by a young man against a young woman, ripples out through the community around them.  Beginning with an impossible monologue by the dead woman herself before zooming out to take in the people left behind, featuring a mixture of original writing and pop cultural samples, original music and covers, multi-media and highly physical performances, Batsh*t is a collage which attempts to piece together an explanation for two seemingly inexplicable deaths. In the process, it comments on how individual acts of violence are preceded by societal failures – that seeking help is not the same as getting help, that love alone is not enough to save or heal no matter what #sexy #mental #health romcoms tell us, and that sometimes telling stories about the love of a good woman healing all functions as an excuse for not funding more beds in psychiatric wards.

Cast List

  • Grace De Bláca
  • Dylan Coburn Gray
  • Jemma Curran
  • John Gunning
  • Stephen Lehane
  • Simon McMahon
  • Leah Minto
  • Alex Moloney
  • Alice Murphy
  • Joseph Ryan
  • Jack Shanley

Crew List

  • Director: Gary Keegan
  • Assistant Director: Roisin McGann
  • Contributor: Feidlim Cannon
  • Contributor: Keith Monaghan
  • Musical Direction: Sean Millar
  • Production Manager: Marcus Costello
  • Lighting Design: Sarah Jane Sheils
  • Design: Stephen Lehane
  • Design: Doireann Coady
  • Makeup: Amy Sleator
  • Audio Visual Production: Killian Waters
  • Sound Operator: Ian Lawless
  • Stage Management: Shane Byrne
  • Stage Management: Sam Ford